Who's who - A portrait of a person who is part of your community

By: Brandon Darnell, News Messenger Reporter
-A +A
Name: Letty Wursten Occupation: Student/recreational aide Age: 18 Family: Mother, Stacy; father, Vic; sisters, Virginia Miller, 26, and Chrissy White, 25; and brother, Jack, 21 City of residence: Lincoln How would you describe yourself? “I’d say I’m a pretty outgoing person. I like to try new things. I’m really family-oriented and I’m really involved with my church. I try to be involved in as much as I can.” You just graduated from Lincoln High School. What are your plans for the near future? “In September, I’m going to Brigham Young University in Idaho. I come home in December, then I leave for two and a half months in Quito, Ecuador. I’m going to be working in an orphanage there.” Have you ever traveled outside the United States? “I went to Canada once when I was little and I don’t really remember it. I also went to Tijuana but I’ve never been to Ecuador. My brother did it and he really liked it.” What part of the trip are you looking forward to? “I’m really looking forward to traveling, and I’m really excited to work with little kids and nurture them and take care of them.” Do you have experience working with children? “I’ve worked with kids at Kids Kamp through the city of Lincoln and I used to baby-sit a lot. I’ve always loved working with kids.” Is working with children something you want to pursue as a career? “I’m not 100-percent sure what I want to major in in college. I think I might do speech pathology and work with kids in a school.” What are your hobbies? “I like to be outside, in general. I like to hang out with my friends and family. I did cheer for two years in high school and played soccer for a really long time but I don’t play organized sports anymore. I still like to play with my friends, though.” What is something readers would be surprised to know about you? “I’ve always wanted a pet ferret and I kind of want to be a contestant on ‘So You Think You Can Dance?’ I’m not very good at dancing but I just want to be on the show.” What is your favorite type of food? “I actually really like Mexican food. I think the food in Ecuador could be similar. I know they have a lot of rice and they probably eat beans, too.” What do you have to accomplish before you go? “I need to get my passport and a bunch of shots. I also need to raise some more money. I’m having a yard sale fundraiser at the end of August and I’ve been giving sponsorship letters to businesses.” - If you would like to see a neighbor or friend featured here, please e-mail or call Brandon Darnell at 774-7967.