Swanson wins for second time at All American Speedway

Sprint cars return to Roseville oval
By: Chase Montgomery, Press Tribune Correspondent
-A +A
Tanner Swanson (No. 75) of Kingsburg scored his second victory of the 2009 USAC Western Sprint car campaign at The All American Speedway Saturday night, leading all but six laps to win the 50-lap feature in his TK Motorsports machine. Whenever on Tanner Swanson starts from the pole it means trouble for the rest of the field. That’s the way this one started but with there was a bit of a twist. Swanson led the first lap, and then in a move that brought the hometown crowd to its feet, Shauna Hogg got by Swanson for the lead. She would lead the next six until lap eight when Swanson got back around her. Swanson would go on to lead every lap for the win. “I’ve really got to thank my team for giving me such a great car tonight,” Swanson said. “It was awesome. I love this place (AAS).” JoJo Helberg (7) was second at the checkered flag. He was solid throughout the race but in reality, he had the second best car on the night. Hogg turned in one of her best performances yet at AAS. She ran a great race and brought home a third place finish. Mike Murgoitio came home fourth and fast qualifier Tony Hunt of Lincoln rounded out the top five. In the points chase, Swanson’s lead now stands at 33 points over Helberg going into the August 15 race at Madera. Qualifying: 1. Tony Hunt (56) 12.943 2. Brian McClish (4B) 12.955 3. JoJo Helberg (7) 12.964 4. Audra Sasselli (77) 12.995 5. Shauna Hogg (5) 12.998 6. Tanner Swanson (75) 13.026 7. Mike Murgoitio (40) 13.125 8. Eric Humphries, (16) 13.245 9. Jerry Kobza (93) 13.692 10. Jimmy Riddell (32)13.762 11. Marvin Mitchell (68) 13.976 HEAT RACE 1: (eight laps) 1. Helberg, 2. Murgoitio, 3. Hunt, 4. Hogg, 5. Kobza, 6. Mitchell. NT HEAT RACE 2: (eight laps) 1. Humphries, 2. Swanson, 3. McClish, 4. Sasselli, 5. Riddell. NT NEW USAC WESTERN SPRINT CAR POINTS: 1-T.Swanson-380; 2-Helberg-347; 3-McClish-343; 4-Hunt-285; 5-Humphries-282; 6-Hogg-259; 7-Kody Swanson-247; 8-Sasselli-221; 9-Nick Green-185; 10-Riddell-172. In NCMA Sprint Car action, David Goodwill (3G) dominated the field and the night. An invert of six put Goodwill in row three to start the race. Ed Amador (76) would start from P-1 with Rob Hammond (17H) on his outside. The second row was made up of Denny Burell (88) and Burt Siverling (77). Amador held the lead for the first lap, but Hammond grabbed the lead on lap two, but Goodwill was making a run as he moved from sixth to second. He was on top by the fourth lap, as his car was by far and away the best on the track. As Goodwill extended his lead, the rest of the field was battling for second, and there were some great battles. Jerry Kobza (93) charged through the field starting seventh and getting to third by lap five. David Burchett (77B) climbed from eighth to fifth on lap 18. After working him for many laps, Kobza made a great pass to get by Hammond for second on lap 27, but he ran out of time and laps. Goodwill would go on to take the checkers with Kobza second. Rob Hammond had a great run, turning in another top five, and crossing third. Denny Burell ran consistently in fourth position and that is where he would finish. David Burchett rounded out the top five for the division. 6th Ed Amador (76) (last car on lead lap) 7th Burt Siverling (77) (two laps down) 8th Gary Koster (17K) (20 Laps) 9th Bill Hendricks (96) (1 Lap) In qualifying, Goodwill came out last and laid down a smoking hot lap of 13.646/ 79.144 MPH to grab fast time. 2nd Jerry Kobza (93) 13.792 3rd Gary Koster (17K) 14.064 4th Denny Burell (88) 14.070 In the NCMA Sprint Trophy Dash, Goodwill defeated Kobza, Burell, and Koster respectively. In the Heat Race, no surprise here - Goodwill wins and sweeps the division on the night. The traveling Legends of the Pacific division brought 27 cars to AAS for Saturday’s races. Twenty cars took the green flag for this 35-lap main event for the Pro/Master Division. A $150 bonus was on the line to win for anyone of the top six qualifiers who would start the race from the rear. Top six qualifiers: Fast Time: Robby Czub (05) 15.544/ 69.480MPH (starting 16th) 2nd Jeremy Wood (22) 15.652 (starting 15th) 3rd Donny Darter (99D) 15.707 (starting 14th) 4th Johnny Morrissey (11) 15.711(Starting 13th) 5th Phillip Morrissey (14) 15.742 (starting 12th) 6th Dave Sciaronni (1X) 15.919 (starting 11th) Tracy’s Cody Berger (63) started from the pole with Reno’s Bob Kuebler (5) on his outside. Row two was Santa Rosa’s James Gilliland (17) and American Canyon’s Jack Humphries (49) flanked outside for the start. Berger leads the first two, and then Gilliland leads the third lap, but then it was Orangevale’s Frankie Marks (37) making a move. He would take the top spot on lap four and had his car in clean air. Tahoe City’s Johnny Morrissey was charging to the front, as he jumped to 10th on lap one, eighth by lap two, third on lap four and second by lap five. Wood was also strong. After starting the race 15th, he was fourth by lap nine. Marks began to fade and Johnny Morrissey got him on the 10th lap, bringing Wood with him. Woods battled Morrissey door-to-door for the next five laps until Wood got the better of him on lap 16. Marks hung tough in third. Rocklin’s Robbie Czub (05) was fourth at the halfway mark and Los Gatos’ Stanislav Osterlund (42) was in fifth. The harder Morrissey tried to catch Wood, the faster his car was falling off. Czub would catch and pass him for second on lap 27, with eight to go. Wood was too strong and held off Czub for the win and the $150 bonus. Johnny Morrissey would cross the stripe third. Johnny’s brother Phillip would follow him home in fourth. Frankie Marks rounded out the top five. 6th Stanislav Osterlund (42) 7th Donny Darter (99D) 8th Cody Berger (63) 9th Dave Sciaronni (1X) 10th James Gilliland (17) 11th Bob Kuebler (5) 12th Greg Baxter (25) 13th Fred Clement (58) 14th Joe LeDuc (20) 15th Jason Anderline (76) 16th Jason Miller (211) 17th Jessica Walker (21) 18th Jimmie Walker (28) 19th Jack Humphrey (49) 20th Keith Clement (8) Time of Race: 25:02:487 Fastest Lap of the Race: Robby Czub 15.364/ 70.294 (in lap 18) In the B Main 20-lap event, Sacramento’s Greg Baxter led from the drop to win. Carson City’s Jason Anderline came from fifth to finish second. Antioch’s Jimmie “Taz Man” Walker started seventh and finished third with a good run. In Heat Race 1, Greg Baxter was your winner. Rohnert Park’s Bill Kristenmacher (74) turned in a second place finish. In Heat Race 2, Reno’s Bob Kuebler defeated James Gilliland by a margin of one tenth of a second for the win. In Heat Race 3, Osterlund defeats Phillip Morrissey for the win. In the Division’s four cars/ four laps Trophy Dash, Johnny Morrissey defeats Czub, Wood, and Darter. In a best of three Match race for $100 CASH between the (05) of Robbie Czub and (22) of Jeremy Wood, Wood won the three-lap first shootout from the pole. The next race Czub started from the pole and won. All square. Race 3, the crowd votes Wood to the pole and he wins.