Shepherd takes 10K win at All American Saturday

Granite Bay's Englehardt wins modified feature
By: Kevin Green
-A +A

With $10,000 on the line, some of the best late model racers in the West flocked to Roseville’s All American Speedway for the JM Environmental Highline 150 on Saturday.

In the end, it was 18-year-old Bakersfield driver Buddy Shepherd who came from behind to take home the huge purse.

The first half of the race featured a two-car battle between veteran drivers John Moore and Matt Erickson. Moore spun out of contention, however, leaving Erickson to pace the field. Shepherd, who had steadily made his way forward, took the lead from Erickson on Lap 92. Erickson threw everything he had at young second-generation driver, but could not get the lead back and had to settle for second.

Cole Moore was victorious in the earlier trophy dash.

Corey Englehardt went to Victory Lane in the Limited Modified division for a third time this year, but it wasn’t without drama. With two laps to go, Nick Lyons bumped Englehardt to take the lead, but on the final lap, Lyons spun by himself to hand the win to Englehardt – who had won the trophy dash earlier.

The Super Stock A‘s featured close racing between Andrew Peeler and Byron Gonzales, but lapped traffic slowed Gonzales up enough for Peeler to pull away. In the Super Stock B’s, Chris Paulson took the lead early, and held off a late charge from Erick Ray to win. Gonzales won the Super Stock A dash, while Paulson took the Super Stock B dash. 


The Mini Cup vs Bandoleros main event was closer than ever. Billy Ray and Jayce McCarthey traded the lead multiple times late in the race, with 13-year-old Ray pulling out the win. McCarthey won a close trophy dash earlier in the night. 

The next event on this season’s schedule at All American Speedway will be the biggest event of the year, featuring the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West in competition on Oct. 13. The program will also include the Pacific Challenge Series Late Models, the North State Modifieds, and local divisions.

For rules, entry forms, or general information; go to For additional questions about the speedway, call 916-786-2025.

Sept. 8 Results

Late Models

Fast Time: Racin Vernon, 83.903 mph

Main Event: 1. Buddy Shepherd, Bakersfield; 2. Matt Erickson, LaGrange; 3. Jason Romero, Cameron Park; 4. Kyle Gottula, Modesto; 5. Michael Mitchell, Loomis; 6. Jack Wood, Loomis; 7. Ryan Philpott, Livermore; 8. Travis Milburn, Eagle, Idaho; 9. David Lewellyn, Modesto; 10. Shannon Mansch, Roseville; 11. Cameron LeGue, Roseville; 12. Chris Scribner, Loomis; 13. John Moore, Granite Bay; 14. Shane Butler, Elk Grove; 15. Randy Hedrick, Reno; 16. Racin Verson, Bakersfield; 17. James Vermillion, Salsbury, N.C.; 18. Cole Moore, Granite Bay.

Limited Modifieds

Fast Time: Corey Englehardt, 85.555 mph

Main Event: 1. Corey Englehardt, Granite Bay; 2. Josh Blackwood, Loomis; 3. Sierra Furia, Kelseyville; 4. Ralph Bailey, Rio Linda; 5. Cole Brown, Ukiah; 6. Niles Streever, Roseville; 7. Nick Lyons, Loomis; 8. Tyler Mullican, Lincoln; 9. Tyler Caturegli, Cloverdale.

Super Stocks A & B

Fast Time A: Dan Farrington, 80.749 mph

Fast Time B: Erick Ray, 75.701 mph

Main Event: 1. (A) Andrew Peeler, Sacramento; 2. (A) Byron Gonzales, Sacramento; 3. (A) Dan Farrington, Citrus Heights; 4. (B) Chris Paulson, Antelope; 5. (B) Erick Ray, Orangevale; 6. (B) Tony Latimer, North Highlands; 7. (B) Tony Ramazzotti, Colverdale; 8. (B) Nate Hickok, Rocklin; 9. (B) Dave Deni, Pollock Pines; 10. (B) James Shelton, Auburn; 11. (B) Hailey Liles, Manteca; 12. (B) Timm Williams, Woodland; 13. (B) Ericka Ray, Orangevale; 14. (B) Blake Disoma, Auburn; 15. (B) Wayne Hickok, Orangevale. 

Bandoleros/Mini Cups

Fast Time: Jayce McCarthey, 72.558 mph

Main Event: 1. Billy Ray, Orangevale; 2. Jayce McCarthey, Placerville; 3. Kenna Mitchell, Loomis; 4. Hannah Ray, Orangevale; 5. Sadie Krug, Orangevale.